Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

torvan

macrumors member
Original poster
I am thrilled about my new-to-me Quicksilver 2002 I got for a song! Brand new in the box even--nary a scratch and all items in it were still wrapped and sealed! It was never even opened!

Now to figure a way to get it to connect to my LG IPS Ultrawide 34" monitor using a DVI to HDMI adapter.. . . . .

Dual 1.0 Ghz G4
1.5 GB RAM
TI4600 128mb (added this myself)
Two 500GB IDE WD Blue (added myself, replacing the Seagate it came with).
BluRay DVD-RW/DL drive (again, added this myself)
Sonnet IDE SATA card and a 1TB Samsung 840 (again, my additions)
OS 9.2.2 on one of the WD Blue drives, 10.5.8 on the Samsung.

retta283

Suspended
Jun 8, 2018
Would OS 9 and a computer that old even work properly with an ultrawide? I'd assume it's a 4k display. You'll probably have to crank the resolution down for it to perform well. I'm not an expert on these because I don't use PPC Macs with modern displays, and I've never owned an ultra wide.

velocityg4

macrumors 604
Dec 19, 2004
Georgia
Would OS 9 and a computer that old even work properly with an ultrawide? I'd assume it's a 4k display. You'll probably have to crank the resolution down for it to perform well. I'm not an expert on these because I don't use PPC Macs with modern displays, and I've never owned an ultra wide.

One can try an old version of SwitchResX to force unsupported resolutions in Mac OS 9.

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
It depends on what card you use I suppose.

When I had my QS up and running I was using an NVIDIA GeForce 68000 GT. That card can drive dual displays at 2048x1536 - although I never used it in OS9.

PS. Only works in the Quicksilver.
[automerge]1577980694[/automerge]