Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rhett7660

macrumors G5
Original poster
Jan 9, 2008
Sunny, Southern California
*Mods please move or combine with previous thread if there is one, was unable to locate one*

I am new to the workflow app and have been looking around for examples, since the main site and reditte site are some what lacking when it comes to doing a search for other workflows out there.

• Does anybody have any they would like to share?
  • Where do you get your examples from?
  • Is there a site that you have found that you have used that is good at explaining more than just the basics?

I do not have any that are ready to be shared since I am still learning. :)

Jessica Lares

macrumors G3
Oct 31, 2009
Near Dallas, Texas, USA
I was going to advise you on the calendar data you were looking for on the subreddit, but that guy answered it for you pretty much. I had a go earlier, and it is pretty crazy complex.

They already have paid guides for working with Workflow. Might just write one myself, LOL. :)

---

I'll show you how to parse a JSON interface with it. (I got it initially from the subreddit for use with Forecast.io's API)

It's two parts - Dumping the data, and then reading it.

Dumping the data

Everything else in your workflow relies on getting this main part to work with.

URL - They call it a Resource URL. This can be something like http://api.wunderground.com/api/Your_Key/conditions/q/CA/San_Francisco.json, http://xkcd.com/info.0.json, https://api.forecast.io/forecast/APIKEY/LATITUDE,LONGITUDE,TIME, whatever. If you open it up in Safari, it'll just dump a bunch of plain text.

Get Contents of Web Page - Grabs the HTML

Make Rich Text from HTML - Converts it into Rich Text (It doesn't work without this step, I don't understand why as its plain text to begin with, but there you go)

Get Text from Input - Gets the "plain text" again from the rich text (Yeah...).