Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ProlificWriter

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 27, 2022
I’m a writer and write 3k-7k words a day. At the moment, most of it is done on an ergonomic keyboard at my iMac, with an 11“ iPad pro using the iMacs Magic Keyboard (out and about in the library etc; I use the mac’s Magic Keyboard as a portable bluetooth keyboard) and sometimes with my old 2014 MacBook Air.

I’d like to start using the iPad for more of my writing, specifically first thing in the morning in bed, or sitting back in a recliner etc. Do any of you use the iPad Magic Keyboard case for producing several thousand words per day? If so, is it comfortable? And does it work quite well on the lap? At a desk, I can just use my iMac keyboard etc, so I’m looking for something that will specifically be useful in other situations — couch, recliner, bed etc.

I know that in general it’s highly regarded. I just wonder whether most of those users are ‘casual’ typists rather than more heavy users of the keyboard.

Any other prolific writers out there who have something good or bad to say about the iPad Magic Keyboard?

tweaknmod

macrumors 6502
Feb 13, 2012
Ottawa, Ontario
1. The typing experience on a desk is great. Not my favourite, but it's far better than many other laptops I've used, as well as peripheral keyboards for desktops. On a desk, with a proper chair, I can - and do - type all day long on the Magic Keyboard.

2. It's not great on the lap. It's not terrible, but the weight of the ipad makes it less than stable. I rarely write for long in this position for that very reason. Good in a pinch, but I'd need something underneath in order to stabalize it, if I were to write for long sessions.

Note: My experience is with the 12.9", not the 11".

Slartibart

macrumors 68030
Aug 19, 2020