Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Barbareren

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 10, 2020
Norway & Mexico
Hey guys,

Last night I decided to dig out my old iPhone X just to charge it and update the firmware. I immediately felt nostalgic holding it again. In my opinion it is the most gorgeous looking phone ever made! I never use cases because I want to fully enjoy my phones the way they were designed to look and feel. Besides, I’m always very careful with my (expensive) stuff, so the phone still looks brand new.

While it was on the charger, I started playing around with the phone a little bit and compared it to my iPhone 12 mini.

The first thing I noticed was how warm the screen on the X was - ridiculously warm/yellow. My Mini’s screen was super white next to it (using Google home screen in Safari on both devices). That wasn’t the X I remembered… So I decided to look in Settings where I quickly discovered that True Tone was ON. Then I repeated the side by side screen comparison with True Tone turned OFF and noticed that the X’s screen was actually whiter than the Mini’s. Not by much, though. However, as others have pointed out, it seems like the entire 12-series do have ‘warmer’ screens by design. Personally I don’t have a problem with the slightly warmer screen, but I was influenced by all those screen threads here on MacRumors, so I just wanted to check.