Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nermal

Original poster
Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
This isn't related to Tiger, but we don't have a development forum, however any Tiger users in this forum must be developers, so...

I'm attempting to port an app across from VB.net. It currently stores all its data in an .mdb file. Basically, I'm looking for an equivalent way to use a database (any format) in Xcode - just something simple where I can execute SQL queries and process the results.

I'd preferably like to end up using a cross-platform format, so that I can update the Windows version later, to use the same data format as the Mac version.

Edit: I forgot to mention that I'm new to Xcode. This is my first "real" Mac app (I've made a few little dumb apps just for learning), but I've been developing for Windows for years (mainly VB but some Pascal/Delphi and C++).

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
You don't say what language you are using!

If you are using Carbon then I really can't help you, sorry.

If you are using Cocoa/Java (or just pure Java) then you have a real easy solution: use JDBC to connect to just about any relational database you like! If it's going to be a local one (i.e. on the same box) then MySQL is free and easy to use.

If you are in Cocoa/ObcJ you have a few more issues as there is no built in data access framework (anymoree, there was one in NeXT as part of EOF). You could write some of your app in Java to using the ObjC/Java bridge and use JDBC as above. You might want to use this Cocoa wrapper to access MySQL.

Given that you want platform independance I think that you could do a lot worse than MySQL!

Nermal

Original poster
Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
New Zealand
Oops, I did say I was new at it :eek: I'm using Cocoa/Obj-C.