Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Suikoden

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 11, 2018
Dear All,

I have a query about AppleScript. I have no programming experience, so if I ask stupid things then please forgive me. I am seeking out your help because I am unable to use AutoHotKeys on my MacBook Pro and I hope that AppleScript is an alternative. I shall let you decide this once you have read my problem.

Ok, so there is a game on the Playstation 4 called Final Fantasy IX. Within that game are two conditions to be met for two trophies to pop.

1. Kill 10,000 enemies
  2. jump rope 1000 times

Now, the first one, in terms of scripting anyway, is fairly simple (hopefully).

What gamers have found is that they can use an application on their PC or Mac called PS4 Remote Play. This allows a person to play their PS4 remotely on their Mac or PC, with the game coming up on the computer screen.

Input via keyboard when in remote play is limited but the PS4 “x” button is the “enter” key, and that is all we need for these parts of the game.

So, at a few parts of the game, enemies come to you (so no movement input is needed). You begin a fight and hit “x” or “enter” to attack and keep doing so until the enemy is dead. Then another enemy comes to you and you rinse and repeat until you have 10,000 enemies dead.

Therefore, my first question is: Can a script be made that repeatedly presses the “enter” key indefinitely within the remote play app? As it will take a while to get to 10,000 it would run for a while and I can do other things.

——

The second element of jump rope is what is causing people more of a head ache. This is not a straight “hit the button over and over 1000 times”. After 50 jumps, the speed increases and then after 100 jumps the rhythm changes to jump jump, jump jump, jump jump. Then after 300 it changes back to jump, jump, jump forever.