Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CapeTownMac

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2008
I have been using Autosleep to track my sleep for a few years. It generally agrees with the simple Apple sleep measurements but, up until now, the Apple app did not give a breakdown between the various sleep stages and I used Autosleep to measure my deep sleep. According to the Autosleep app I normally get between 1 and 2 hours of deep sleep.

I used the Apple iOS16 app for the first time last night and it registered zero deep sleep compared to Autosleep which registered 1 hour, 45 minutes of deep sleep. The relevant screen shots are attached.

I'm inclined to believe Autosleep because it is an established product and I have found it to be intuitively accurate. Also, every normal human has deep sleep in a sleep cycle and it would be very unusual to have no deep sleep.

The Apple app has different categorisations. Autosleep does not measure "REM" sleep on the basis that it is not measurable without measuring your actual brainwaves but the Apple algorithm is supposed to approximate it.

If anyone else is interested in this topic and would like to compare notes, please share your experience/insights.

Attachments

• IMG_1267.jpeg
    IMG_1267.jpeg
    147.8 KB · Views: 4,005
  • IMG_1266.jpeg
    IMG_1266.jpeg
    185.8 KB · Views: 930

huddman

macrumors newbie
Sep 14, 2022
I absolutely agree with your conclusions. I've used IOS 16 to track 3 nights of sleep and each night it registered zero deep sleep. On those three nights I also used the Oura version 3 ring and a Fitbit Inspire 2 both of which registered deep sleep. From my perspective Apple has some cleaning up to do with its new sleep algorithm.

Apple_Robert

Contributor
Sep 21, 2012
In the middle of several books.
It has been my experience, that AutoSleep has a tendency to overestimate a lot of the time.