Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

widgetman

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 7, 2004
For some reason, my computer has been logging in very slowly lately and I really would like to stop it from taking so long. So here's the situation: I'm on 10.3.7 and i'm having this problem with the family computer (it affects all users on the computer, not just me) so there are 4 users. I am an admin along with my dad. I'm a developer so there is alot of developer software lying around. The computer is an 800mgz G4. Could this be as simple as a corrupt file somewhere? How can i track down what's wrong?

by the way, i dont have any haxies running (or any other product from unsanity for that matter), i have done some basic system maintanence (including repairing permissions and rotating logs) very recently, and turning off all internet access via the network panel has no effect on the slow login time at all.

can someone please please help me?! :confused:

angelneo

macrumors 68000
Jun 13, 2004
afk
is it just the login or it also affects the boot up?

EDIT: perhaps, you can try creating a new user to check whether it affects that user as well

widgetman

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 7, 2004
it seems to only affect the login. boot time is completely normal. All users on the system are affected by this strange slowdown.

Cuckoo

macrumors 6502
May 2, 2003
The Netherlands - Utrecht
widgetman said:
it seems to only affect the login. boot time is completely normal. All users on the system are affected by this strange slowdown.

When my PB boots, and OSX tries to mount a share over the network, which isn't available (because i changed my network settings or because im not at home and there is no server available), then it takes forever to get it started. Could that be the case?

widgetman

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 7, 2004