Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

machenryr

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 25, 2016
I’ve been frustrated with the iPod Touch ever since I got it. I’m a veteran Classic user. But obviously I don’t know how this operates and the documents I’ve found just don’t make sense me. I’m trying to update some playlists. First off they’re not showing up. The music is on my Mac Pro 1,7 running Monterey 12.6. I connect with usb but the playlists don’t come up on the iPod. I go through and make sure the files are downloaded and not icloud. AND I’m not interested in using music from icloud, as convenient as it maybe at times. I want the music on the Mac and downloaded to to iPod.

When I go to sync I see checkbox and no option for “Entire Music Library” or “Selected artists, albums,playlists” etc. Just sync.

So I’m missing something here. I’ve tried loading it from the finder as well as from the Music app. No difference.

Help.

Grumpus

macrumors 6502
Jan 17, 2021
You have to use Finder to sync the music and playlists that the Music.app maintains. When the iPod is selected in the Finder sidebar (on the left) you're initially shown the General tab. Click the Music tab and you should be able to select the 'Sync music' checkbox. Clicking Apply (lower right) should cause the sync to proceed. If I've misunderstood your problem, please post a screenshot of what you're actually seeing.
Screen Shot 2023-01-16 at 7.18.57 AM.png

machenryr

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 25, 2016
You have to use Finder to sync the music and playlists that the Music.app maintains. When the iPod is selected in the Finder sidebar (on the left) you're initially shown the General tab. Click the Music tab and you should be able to select the 'Sync music' checkbox. Clicking Apply (lower right) should cause the sync to proceed. If I've misunderstood your problem, please post a screenshot of what you're actually seeing.