Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rennocneb

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 3, 2023
So i can buy either option and there is 1200 bucks between them. Which way would you all go? I work in IT and want to be able to run some virtual machines on occassion. I also code a bit. Battery life difference between them? I definately do not care about gaming etc, i have a really nice desktop pc for that purpose. I guess i do not want to miss out of M2 is way better but 1200 buck more is sizeable.

rennocneb

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 3, 2023
16GB of ram in any modern desktop replacement class notebook is a joke. Did you see i want to run VMs and code? 16gb shared between VMs, Graphics, and Mac OS is not going to cut it. I have an M1 Pro 16GB machine I am giving to family that goes into memory pressure quite often and i do not use it as hard as i would like(no VMs currently)

Basic75

macrumors 68000
May 17, 2011
Europe
Depends on how much RAM your VMs use. For me 4GB is enough for one of my light-weight Linux VMs. I have 64GB which leaves enough for macOS even when running a couple of those. If your VMs are heavier and/or you need to run a lot of them you might benefit from 96GB.

Cyberpower678

macrumors 6502
Apr 28, 2015
Everywhere
Depending on the nature of coding, that could be a real RAM eater. Swapping that data will make the process significantly slower. My coding also has me training up some machine learning models, and that's a major memory eater. I'm talking up to 100s of GBs of RAM. Most cases I get it done without about 60-70 GB, but software development, especially ones that need to train a machine learning algorithm, can really be demanding on RAM.

Malus120

macrumors 6502a
Jun 28, 2002