Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dahkoht

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2023
Greets,

I'm a sys engineer who does tons of remote work and runs multiple VM's at times for varying test/software uses. Usually just one VM at a time with the host machine also though.

Anyway am passing one of my windows rigs down to my son and want to get back in to the Apple world as I used to do mix of it with windows world. (have a dedicated gaming rig )

Have a couple questions for you Apple hardware experts,

Both for parallels (and probably other ones also will be tested ) , would an M2 Studio Ultra with all the cores be faster than a new Macbook Pro Max considering the increase in core count ? I know all about VM's on the windows world both VMware andHyper-V etc , but wasn't sure how well the Apple side uses increased core count on that side

While a laptop would be nice , it's not needed as 95% of the work will be remote work from home , so that's not really an issue. And while an expert on the windows side of hardware I definitely am no on the Apple side so would appreciate opinions

(also side off the wall question ,i've seen the configs of the new M3's with unmatched size memory 48gb , etc , and was curious if the unified memory of the Apple silicon system rules out any performance hits of not have completely matched DDR ram size wise ? )

Thanks in advance

Rnd-chars

macrumors regular
Apr 4, 2023
If you don’t need the portability of a laptop, you can certainly get more bang for your buck going with a Studio (when comparing comparable 16” configs to Studio configs I can often “save” $1000). If budget isn’t an issue, I’d likely go for a maxed out M3 Max for the faster single threaded performance, better GPU and possibly NPU (this depends on how well software is able to leverage the Ultra’s dual NPUs.)