Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BR4DOKYBrazil

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 25, 2018
Londrina - PR / Brazil
After growing up with Windows, I realized a dream: I bought a Macbook Air M3. As I'm new to the system, I deleted some apps that I wouldn't use, such as GarageBand and others. However, apps like Books, AppleTV, Finance, etc., still remain on the system and MacOS won't let me uninstall them. Is there any way I can delete them without harming the system?

Reactions: rm5

BR4DOKYBrazil

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 25, 2018
Londrina - PR / Brazil

Marcopolo53

macrumors regular
Oct 21, 2016
Toronto
While technically possible, it’s complicated, tedious, can lead to data loss and I would advise against such endeavour :)
https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...tem-volume-as-writeable.2332937/post-30822017

"macOs Debloating thread" https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/macos-debloating-thread.2278758/
Technically to do what one implies can be done can not be done

The Operating System resides in a Sealed and Read Only Volume that cannot be opened by the User nor by Third Party Applications.

rm5

macrumors 68020
Mar 4, 2022
United States
After growing up with Windows, I realized a dream: I bought a Macbook Air M3. As I'm new to the system, I deleted some apps that I wouldn't use, such as GarageBand and others. However, apps like Books, AppleTV, Finance, etc., still remain on the system and MacOS won't let me uninstall them. Is there any way I can delete them without harming the system?
As others have said, probably not a good idea to touch those...

I don't really consider those apps "bloatware," as they aren't useless, and they don't slow down the system. Stuff on Windows like "Intel Power Management" or "Dell Control Center" or "Lenovo Performance Manager" - THAT is bloatware.

Ben J.

macrumors 6502a
Aug 29, 2019
Oslo