Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BodaciousBBQ

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 13, 2003
Phiily
Before I buy my 1st mac, I need to get some answers. If I DL songs from the itunes store, can I convert them to mp3 so I can play them anywhere? Or must they be played on your mac / ipod?

Also, if I buy an ibook ( no superdrive ) can I use iDVD with an external burner? I'm guessing yes.

I know I should buy a powerbook but I can't afford it... that said, if I'm just a "home movie" editor, will an iBook with max ram handle imovie w/o too many problems?

Thanks... TOTAL NEWBIE HERE... Chuck

Suspended
Jun 22, 2001
Re: questions before I buy my 1st mac

Originally posted by BodaciousBBQ
Before I buy my 1st mac, I need to get some answers. If I DL songs from the itunes store, can I convert them to mp3 so I can play them anywhere? Or must they be played on your mac / ipod?

Also, if I buy an ibook ( no superdrive ) can I use iDVD with an external burner? I'm guessing yes.

I know I should buy a powerbook but I can't afford it... that said, if I'm just a "home movie" editor, will an iBook with max ram handle imovie w/o too many problems?

I'll answer your first question, the AAC files that you download from the ITMS have some protection to stop them being pirated over the internet. However, Apple has allowed you ulimited burns of the Music to cd (As long as you change the playlist every 10 burns). You can then re-encode the songs. Some people say there is a huge loss of quality, while others say that they can't tell the difference. Do it once and see what you think.

arn

macrumors god
Staff member
Apr 9, 2001

No, unfortunately, iDVD does not work with external "Superdrives".

The 12" PowerBook might be a better choice with a Superdrive if that's your goal. The added processor power would help as well as the ability to use a superdrive... but is going to cost more.