Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rapidxc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2021
Hi everyone,
I have a M1 MBA and I want to upgrade to the pro. The bright display is really important for me and so is the fan. I have one question- Does your m1 MacBook pro have a "silent clicking" option in the settings like my MacBook air?
Screen Shot 2021-03-05 at 12.58.26 PM.png

And for those of you who have owned both devices- how does the trackpad on both feel like? I've heard people saying that the pro trackpad feels hollow. Is this true? Does it sound hollow due to the thicker body and the larger slab of glass?

ksloth

macrumors member
Nov 21, 2019
USA
Hi everyone,
I have a M1 MBA and I want to upgrade to the pro. The bright display is really important for me and so is the fan. I have one question- Does your m1 MacBook pro have a "silent clicking" option in the settings like my MacBook air?
View attachment 1739281
And for those of you who have owned both devices- how does the trackpad on both feel like? I've heard people saying that the pro trackpad feels hollow. Is this true? Does it sound hollow due to the thicker body and the larger slab of glass?
I do not see any option for silent clicking on my M1 Pro.

ksloth

macrumors member
Nov 21, 2019
USA
It is indeed very weird. Why on earth wouldn't the pro have the same option?

CheesePuff

macrumors 65816
Sep 3, 2008
Southwest Florida, USA
There seems to be a lot of inconsistency over the years of the silent clicking being an option on the MBA and 13"/15"/16" MBP's. I never figured out which devices does/should have it or not.

rapidxc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2021
It is indeed very weird. Why on earth wouldn't the pro have the same option?