Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Adelphos33

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 13, 2012
Do the iPad Pros (M4) have any functional advantage over the iPad Airs (M2) or even the last two iPad Pro Models (M2/M1) - meaning are there tasks you can do on an iPad Pro that you cannot do on an iPad Air? We know that the iPad Pros don’t add any new camera tech, no new screen functionality (always on), no new ports, no new specific OS functionality. The new Pencil Pro works on both the iPad Pros and iPad Airs. As someone who really likes iPadOs and the iPad as a platform in the current state (and I am not a proponent of adding MacOs to the IPad), I am struggling to see what an iPad Pro can do over a new iPad Air (the ”regular” iPad can’t do the same in terms of multitasking and camera and such, so this is really focused on Air vs Pro). I know the iPad Pro is just a nicer piece of kit, but I am struck at how there are not even battery or camera advantages for the iPad Pro this time around

pedregosa

macrumors regular
Mar 31, 2010
I think you are right. The IPP M4 gives the premium hardware experience, but — unless you are in a very small subset of users for whom the M4 makes a difference — no significant greater capabilities. I downgraded from an IPP to an iPad 10 in 2022 because the old placement of the FT camera just did not work for me. The iPad 10 got the horizontal placement first. And I actually have liked the 10. But this year, I think I'm going to go to an Air, not back to an IPP.

Reactions: Tyler O'Bannon

throAU

macrumors G3
Feb 13, 2012
Perth, Western Australia
Well, if you discount the significant increase in processing power, more RAM, higher tier storage options, much better display, better cameras, etc.

If you don't think the Pro is worth it and your needs are met by the air - guess what - buy the air?