Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

piatigorsky

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 24, 2008
So, something near and dear to my heart. I'm a musician by training (for those who don't know, "piatigorsky" refers to the cellist Gregor Piatigorsky), so let's see what the community can come up with on the theme of music! I've posted a few run-of-the-mill instrument pics below, but don't just be limited to standard musical instruments, or for that matter standard definitions of "music". Portraying sound in a visual medium perhaps? Or some interesting shots of musical instruments doing non-music stuff maybe? (Please, no instruments crushed under a hydraulic press—I saw the recent iPad keynote and it hurt!)

Also, even though I'm an analog photography nut, digital photos are of course welcome as well (although I'm not saying there's no special consideration for film photography!)

Untitled 101.jpeg
\
(Nikkormat FTN, Kentmere Pan 400@400)

14750 (1).jpeg

(Nikon FE, Fuji Superia X-tra 400@400)

As always, standard rules apply:
  • The photographs must be your own work.
  • You may only submit one photo per contest.
  • No commenting or liking photos until after the judging has taken place.
  • This contest runs for about a week, starting now
  • At the end of the competition, the judge (last week's winner) will choose a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place photo, providing as much feedback as possible.
  • The 1st place winner will start a new thread here with the topic/theme of their choice, and act as the judge for that contest. (Winner has 48 hours to create new theme, after that it defers to 2nd place).
  • Be sure to update the Contest Master List as soon as you post a new theme.

Contest ends May 18th at 9 a.m. Taipei time (UTC+8) —which is May 17th, 9 p.m. Eastern time (UTC-4)

piatigorsky

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 24, 2008
@_timo_redux_