Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jensche

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 21, 2017
I take the time to report bugs directly to Apple via dev feedback app or via feedback website.
But I'm slowly giving up. I have been reporting a mini bug in various tickets for over 5 years now in every Beta. A simple bug, never got any response.

Here is my little Bug:

The correct icon would be externaldrive.connected.to.line.below.

It's a shame that Apple doesn't seem to listen to bugs that are easy to fix.
The small details matter…

do you have the same problem?

Icon.jpg

rm5

macrumors 68020
Mar 4, 2022
United States
I am not a developer or anything so I don't submit bugs to Apple, but I have had the same problem with various TrueNAS systems - EXACT same icon you're getting. I have no idea why.

My file server has been broken for months, so I've been "out of the loop" as far as Macs and servers go, lately.

gilby101

macrumors 68030
Mar 17, 2010
Tasmania
When connecting to an SMB server (the standard macOS protocol for server connections), in my Case a Synology with SMB3 enabled, the Finder takes the wrong icon. Namely the icon: doc
This is not a macOS bug.

The server is supposed to tell macOS which icon to use. When there isn't one or macOS can't use it, macOS falls back to a generic device icon or even, as in your case, the folder icon SidebarGenericFile.icns. As far as I can see your preferred server icon doesn't exist.

My network sharing devices (printer, router and ubuntu server) appear use public.generic-pc.icns (old Windows PC with a blue screen of death - an Apple joke?). I have not bothered to try and change these though I probably could for the ubuntu server.

Google is your friend (or in my case DDG). I have found these that might be useful to you:

From the TrueNAS forum https://www.truenas.com/community/threads/smb-shares-what-determines-macos-finder-icon.74925/