Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TSE

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jun 25, 2007
St. Paul, Minnesota
Hey guys,

I searched for this thread and I'm sure it exists, but I couldn't find it - at least a recent version of it, and software moves fast.

One of my goals when I made the switch to Mac with my 14" MacBook Pro was to leave Adobe and any subscription services behind.

I just used Affinity's Black Friday sale to purchase Photo, Publisher, and Designer. We will see how they work for my personal use.

But I'm also curious what you guys recommend for a non-subscription Lightroom alternative. I have an A7iii with a variety of both official Sony lenses and vintage ones without any software profiles. I am not a professional by any means, but I did find myself utilizing many of Lightrooms advanced features pretty extensively that aren't within Apple's own Photos application.

Metamorphoser

macrumors newbie
Sep 23, 2012
Berlin - Germany
I use DxO Photolab 5 as an alternative. Works pretty good. Only missing the catalogue.
But otherwise the noise reduction is awesome

Actually you should find some Black Friday deals for DxO.

Reactions: Clix Pix

TSE

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jun 25, 2007
St. Paul, Minnesota
I use DxO Photolab 5 as an alternative. Works pretty good. Only missing the catalogue.
But otherwise the noise reduction is awesome

Actually you should find some Black Friday deals for DxO.

Hey, thanks for that! I'll look into it. It's half off right now and that's promising!

Stupid question, but, what's the "catalogue"?

Clix Pix

macrumors Core
Hey, thanks for that! I'll look into it. It's half off right now and that's promising!

Stupid question, but, what's the "catalogue"?