Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HighTime

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 20, 2014
Hello folks,

Moving from an old iMac Retina to an M2 Max in a few weeks time. All I really use is Word, Scrivener and sometimes InDesign for basic stuff. What monitor would give me the sharpest looking text? I don't play games or do any photography etc, it would literally be mainly for text. The retina display has always been crisp and I've seen some people talking about blurred text on non-Apple monitors at different settings or something, not really sure cause I'm not too tech savvy in regards to monitors, but surely there must be something that would have sharp text? I would prefer something bigger than the iMac's 27 inches. At the moment I want to spend around $1000 but that is open.

Any ideas?

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
So the thing that will mainly affect text clarity is resolution. Viewing angles will also influence the experienced somewhat. But you can ignore color reproduction.

If you want retina quality you want something with roughly 218 PPI. That is pixels per inch. The options are basically a 21” 4K display, a 5K at 27” or a 6K at 32”. In theory you could also do something like 1440p at around 13-14”. But that’s a bit small for a desktop. For 5K displays you only really have two options. The studio display and the LG UltraFine 5K, both of which are basically the same as iMac display panels.

Aside from the 21” option, this is a bit pricey and you can get a decent experience with a much cheaper 4K 27” panel. It won’t be retina quality and macOS will have to do fractional scaling for get optimal screen space utilization which also adds a bit of clarity loss.

HighTime

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 20, 2014
The options are basically a 21” 4K display, a 5K at 27” or a 6K at 32”.