Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

edmund_dunn

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 20, 2016
I'm just starting out in school learning web design. I've used Text Wrangler in the past but not for html. Is there a better text editor out there for html, css, etc.?

macrumors regular
Jul 20, 2015
I think Brackets is a cool starter..

It's free, open source and the fun part is, the app is also created on top of web based standards like CSS and JavaScript.

If you really like creating websites after a while you can always upgrade to paid apps like Coda if needed.

http://brackets.io/

The Clark

macrumors 6502a
Dec 11, 2013
Canada
Long time coda 2 user here. Incredible app but sublime text and brackets are both awesome editors too. Miles ahead of Text Wrangler.

edmund_dunn

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 20, 2016
Thank you for the feedback. I'm going with Brackets for now. Once I'm in more advanced classes I may switch.

IHelpId10t5

macrumors 6502
Nov 28, 2014
BBEdit (http://www.barebones.com/products/bbedit/)
Coda (https://panic.com/coda/)
Sublime (https://www.sublimetext.com/)
Brackets (http://brackets.io/) - Free!

All great. There will always be many features that overlap but a few that are only available in one or another. For example, BBEdit has great grep and multi-file search and replace, has support for massive files, has a built-in diff GUI, but does not have multiple-cursors. Brackets is free and works great for most web development but has no diff tool and is built in JavaScript and therefore doesn't always feel like a native application. I don't use Sublime but it looks like a powerful and flexible editor. Coda is an extremely polished, native Mac application that has plenty of eye candy and even a SSH/SFTP client built-in.