Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

redcard

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 20, 2008
As a complete newbie, I'm trying to work out which one to focus on. Most likely I will be looking to use the software on a casual basis, maybe doing some video for friends / local businesses and stuff like that. Anyway, assuming video editing becomes a regular hobby / side gig...

FCP and DaVinci Studio both cost €349, so do I use the 3 months free trial to learn FCP before buying, or do I use the free version of DaVinci, and hope that the free version covers my needs, and I save €349?

Let's say the local council asked me to make a 60 second touristy video using a drone for their website, could I produce a decent video with free DaVinci, or would the limited options make it too frustrating?

If I got to the stage where I needed DaVinci Studio, then I would probably need to consider if I should just go FCP, as that that seems to be better supported etc, so that would be a bit of a bummer have 'wasted' the time on DaVinci.

Also, after the trial, does FCP just stop working?

Thanks for any opinions!

R S K

macrumors regular
Oct 18, 2022
Hannover, Germany
Either will edit videos just fine and at a professional level as well as have options and features far beyond the needs of a "complete newbie". But then even iMovie could "make a 60 second touristy video", and it's literally a "light" version of FCP. But no one can know what it is you need, your learning capacity, your goals, etc., etc., etc., etc. So that's something for you to find out, no one can do that for you. No software can somehow magically make you a great filmmaker/editor.