Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rhyme2

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2020
I’ve been using Fitness+ since it was released and thought I’d share my experience so far and also ask how everyone else is finding it.

I signed up for the free trial expecting that I would take the free month and then go back to Sworkit and my usual outdoor exercises, but I think I am hooked.

Yoga: I’m a beginner. I have tried a couple of live classes before, but have found it too difficult (thought I couldn’t even manage a downward dog) and frustrating. And I’ve tried Pilates, but ended up hurting my back. Flexibility is not my strong point. The Fitness+ trainers are much better at explaining exactly how to do each move than the live trainers I have seen in the past, and are also always ready with advice regarding how to modify exercises to be at the right challenge. I suspect they are better for beginners than advanced yoga practitioners, but those who are advanced probably already have their routines established. My favourite Yoga trainer is Jessica, as she is careful about reminding you of good form and reminding you of available modifications — perfect for beginners. Molly is also good (probably better at the intermediate level).

HIIT: I have good cardio fitness and am enjoying the longer (30 minute) HIIT workouts. Could do with some 45 minute HIIT workouts. I’m in the middle of the pack on the burn bar but find it easy to get my heart rate up by pushing myself a little in these workouts. My favourite trainer is Jamie Ray — he’s charismatic and none of his moves hurt my knees or challenge my dexterity excessively. I can’t say the same for all the trainers — jump lunges do hurt my joints.