Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mrjamin

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 6, 2003
Strongbadia
i recently started folding (yeah, i know, a bit late i guess) on my AMD Athlon XP. My cpu temp went up by an average of 17 degrees C on idle!! I'm trying to get my pc silent and my next investment is a silent cpu fan; by doing this my CPU temp is going to increase anyway since it's got a beast of a fan on it at the moment. By beast i mean that it cools it well but it sounds like a bumble bee on speed. I'm gonna be pushing the AMD temp limit if i'm not careful seeing as it's running about about 65-70 at the moment. If its all the same to you, i think i'll stop. I'm a student - if my CPU goes i cant afford to replace it, it also means i cant earn any money to fund being a student OR do any work. Sorry guys and farewell to team 3446.

Quite why i needed to post this on here i don't know.

jethroted

macrumors 6502a
Jan 2, 2003
Cyberspace
Re: folding is gonna kill my CPU

Originally posted by mrjamin
i recently started folding (yeah, i know, a bit late i guess) on my AMD Athlon XP. My cpu temp went up by an average of 17 degrees C on idle!! I'm trying to get my pc silent and my next investment is a silent cpu fan; by doing this my CPU temp is going to increase anyway since it's got a beast of a fan on it at the moment. By beast i mean that it cools it well but it sounds like a bumble bee on speed. I'm gonna be pushing the AMD temp limit if i'm not careful seeing as it's running about about 65-70 at the moment. If its all the same to you, i think i'll stop. I'm a student - if my CPU goes i cant afford to replace it, it also means i cant earn any money to fund being a student OR do any work. Sorry guys and farewell to team 3446.

Quite why i needed to post this on here i don't know.

Wow, I wonder if my pc is hurting. I haven't even checked to see if my temp has gone up.

hugemullens