Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wnxgenral

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 14, 2008
I have been on the fence since the original announcement because $1099 is a lot to shell out for an iPad but just like any new Apple product, I will invest as an early adopter. I am not a creative. I am a professional in enterprise technology sales. Here are some of the tasks I use my current iPad Air for.

1. Reading and consuming media (i.e. Wallstreet Journal / TechCrunch)
2. Reading iBooks
3. Netflix / Amazon Prime video in bed when I am staying at a hotel
4. Long transatlantic 12+ hour plane trips for movies
5. MS Office 365 (of which my company supports entirely)
6. Light emailing and calendaring
7. Note taking (the apple pencil really interested me here, can I use this to take notes in business meetings?)
8. Browsing the web while on the couch
9. VPN into the enterprise, my company fully supports iOS devices
10. Studying for the GMAT (side by side note taking and reading)

Devices I currently own rMP 13", iPhone 6s+, iPad Air LTE

Thanks everyone so much for your input. I look forward to hearing from the folks that are in non-creative lines of work and how this device integrates into their daily workflow.

Cnasty

macrumors 68040
Jul 2, 2008
Your list mimics what I would buy it for minus the jet set traveling and GMAT studying.

Interested for the responses as I fight the urge to purchase since my 3 year old son has taken over my Air 2.

donster28

macrumors 68000
Oct 5, 2006
Great White North
I have been on the fence since the original announcement because $1099 is a lot to shell out for an iPad but just like any new Apple product, I will invest as an early adopter. I am not a creative. I am a professional in enterprise technology sales. Here are some of the tasks I use my current iPad Air for.

2. Reading iBooks