Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Choose

• Choice 1

Votes: 2 50.0%
  • Choice 2

Votes: 2 50.0%

• Total voters

Rilind Krasniqi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 3, 2020
Hey guys,
A bit about my needs, I am a software developer building mainly web applications but nothing too heavy. I do not play video games or do anything graphic intensive besides maybe the odd video editing on iMovie but really amateur stuff just for fun. I just ordered a new iMac 27 Retina with the following specs:
- I intend on upgrading RAM myself with third party hardware -

Choice 1.
27-inch iMac with Retina 5K display​
With the following configuration:
3.0GHz 6-core 8th-generation Intel Core i5 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.1GHz
8GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory
Radeon Pro 570X with 4GB of GDDR5 memory
512GB SSD storage​

I am still however really anxious on whether I made the right decision or if I should have gone with the following spec for an extra £300(~375$USD) for further future proofing with higher base GHz, a newer generation chip, and better graphics:

Choice2.
  • 3.7GHz 6-core 9th-generation Intel Core i5 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.6GHz
  • 8GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory
  • Radeon Pro 580X with 8GB of GDDR5 memory
  • 512GB SSD storage
I would really appreciate advise on if I am missing out a lot on too much with the better graphics and CPU. I also do not want to over pay on hardware that will not make a tangible difference on my user experience.

Thanks!

jerwin

Suspended
Jun 13, 2015
You can't "future proof" with the 2020 imacs right around the corner. Supposedly, the 9th generation intel chips guard against "some" spectre and meltdown exploits.

Last edited:

ninja2000

macrumors 6502
Dec 16, 2010