Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jas5279

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 21, 2016
I have been completely happy with my iPhone 6S since the day I bought it in November 2015 until I made a stupid decision to upgrade to the latest iOS 11.3.1 from 10.xx something. I did the update about a week ago. Until about a week ago, I was on iOS 10. I don't really care about updating iOS as long as my phone is working fine which it was. But in a brief stupid moment, I updated it. And now my battery time has greatly reduced and the phone gets warm too for no reason. I was very happy with the last iOS version I had.

Is there any way to easily and safely roll back to that version? A number of ways show up when you do a Google search but I'm not a techie and I don't want to screw things up. So I only want to follow a method which works flawlessly.

How do I roll back to the last iOS version I had before the update?

Radon87000

macrumors 604
Nov 29, 2013
Thanks to Apple's planned obsolescence strategy there is no way back. You are stuck. Only way to sort it out now it to get an iPhone X. I installed a tvOS beta profile on my iPad to force it to stay on iOS 10 as Apple loves to trick users into updating via those intrusive prompts.

iOS 12 is supposed to improve things so that's your only hope aPart from getting a X.

C DM

macrumors Sandy Bridge
Oct 17, 2011
I have been completely happy with my iPhone 6S since the day I bought it in November 2015 until I made a stupid decision to upgrade to the latest iOS 11.3.1 from 10.xx something. I did the update about a week ago. Until about a week ago, I was on iOS 10. I don't really care about updating iOS as long as my phone is working fine which it was. But in a brief stupid moment, I updated it. And now my battery time has greatly reduced and the phone gets warm too for no reason. I was very happy with the last iOS version I had.