Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VJNeumann

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 26, 2017
I feel like this will be divisive. Anyway, I had too much time on my hands (for obvious reasons), so I mocked up a 32 inch iMac and/or iMac Pro redesign. A few thoughts:
  • I moved toward the geometric/utilitarian/monolithic design language of the Mac Pro/XDR, which I'm sure won't appeal to everyone
  • I'm no engineer, but I tried to keep it 'realistic' - ie the bulge depth is equal to a current 27" iMac, with way more internal volume overall, the pivot isn't NASA technology, the center of gravity is low, etc...
  • The front has the glass come down over the chin, which is enshrouded in the black bezel (if you look at the bottom right, I also did a variation with the chin as a frosted black, which looks pretty sharp too)
  • Some images show perforation on the side, others show it on the back. These are different options - I wouldn't do perforated side and back together as it looks too busy
  • Reduced bezels, but sides correspondingly thicker (keeping to my 'realistic' point earlier)
  • If you're Tim Cook, I will sell you this design for no less than 1 million (1,000,000) US dollars or twenty-four (24) rolls of toilet paper
  • Any criticism will be taken personally

iMac01.jpg

Freida

Suspended
Oct 22, 2010
Good start! I would reduce the chin a bit to make it more visually appealing (the logo is your guide)
Also, the back shape of the teardrop is a bit too much. Not very appealing so I would reconsider it.
Also, the stand is not correct (escpecially for 27"). The gravity etc. would make it easier to knock over. Thats why on current iMac the stand goes back to counterbalance the weight or on XDR the stand is mega heavy to compensate.

Yeah, keep going. Might look very nice but now its a good "blocking" :) Nice work

Azrael9

macrumors 68020
Apr 4, 2020