Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

udflyer

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 3, 2011
Arggg

I am a developer so I do this every year.

Bugs do not bother me. This year it broke my phone.

After going to iOS10 and using for 1 day, my phone always thinks headphones are plugged :(

I downgraded back to ios 9.3.2 .. SAME THING!!!!

Speakerphone on calls work fine.

Seems like iOS10 messed up the sound driver or something...

Not pleased with Apple at all.

BTW I have an iPhone 6s Plus

...Elmo Sad...

C DM

macrumors Sandy Bridge
Oct 17, 2011
Have you tried cleaning out your headphone jack? Perhaps plugging and plugging headphones in as well?

Reactions: ladytonya

udflyer

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 3, 2011
It's possible your headphone port or the cable is damaged.

Port was fine until iOS 10... Timing suspect... Cable not involved. No cable is plugged in but it thinks it is.

What is strange is speakerphone on a phone call does work

stulaw11

Suspended
Jan 25, 2012
If you're a dev then you should know restoring back to iOS9 restores literally evening from scratch. There are no hidden residual files in some secret stash on the iphone. If it was a "driver" issue reinstalling iOS9 wouldve fixed it.

Bring it to the Apple Store, could be random hardware failure- coincidence.

udflyer

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 3, 2011
Literally impossible iOS 10 did this if you truly downgraded, dude. It's coincidencental hardware fault/damage.

From what I am reading, I agree.....still strange timing...oh well. thanks everyone

Reactions: nooaah

bbfc

macrumors 68040
Oct 22, 2011
Newcastle, England.
Funnily enough my 6 Plus did this yesterday. I plugged the headphones back in and unplugged and that fixed it. Maybe the port needs cleaning.

jsmith189

macrumors 68000
Jan 12, 2014