Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

E2EK1EL

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 19, 2012
Glad to see there are some iOS 6 users who didn't upgrade their hardware to the IP5s or updated to iOS7 or was lucky enough to downgrade in time back to iOS6.

How many of us are left of the iOS 6 bread?

My personal reasons why I didn't update to iOS7:
I've tested iOS7 started back in June when it launched to the Devs, yes I'm a dev if anyone wants to know and also a graphic designer too. :)

1) Looks like cheese
There's only two ways to visually design a OS with a "Flat" look and unfortunately iOS 7 doesn't land on A or B.
A) Super flat non-gradient design must be a two colour scheme, such as Windows Phone 7 & 8. Unfortunately it's a waste of a high resolution screen and that explains how the Lumia 900 got away with their mid range specs during their launch.

B) Flat design with gradients that are very subtle with colour change, 3D F/X with minor shadowing and drop shadows, they must be constant across the board. Perfect example would be Skype, eBay, Google and Facebook mobile which had achieved this design aspect properly.

Honestly, iOS 7 looks like a page ripped out of Dora's colouring book, My Little Pony and a essentially a Teletubby phone. Its humanly impossible to have two neon colours that are in a gradient ion and sitting on a white background to look good. You can't even place bright yellow on white back ground.

2) Runs like cheese

The day iOS 7 Beta 1 was deployed, once I installed it I knew within the hour this is not a Beta build. Every time I explained this to someone, they threw "it's a Beta" card at me. If you look back at iOS 5 / 6 Beta 1 runs way smoother, barely any problems and it was quite smooth. Quite honestly, it was a alpha build and shouldn't be release at that state.