Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mr. 123

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 20, 2016
Hi,
After the disappointing iPad 10th gen announcement I am considering picking up a 2020 IPad Air with 64GBs of memory. I have 256gb on my phone and 1TB on my iMac but I just don’t feel like paying upgrade prices. I mostly stream and don’t store music on the iPad so it should hopefully be fine but it’s so greedy that they don’t start at 128.

First of all I have used a 6th gen iPad since it was released and it’s been good but it’s pretty laggy these days so I don’t use it much so I thought I’d upgrade to get something smoother and I thought the 10th gen would be a good replacement at first glance.

Where I live the new 10th gen with 64GB costs $592 whereas the 2020 iPad Air with 64GB costs $619.

I’m a student so I mostly use the iPad for reading eBooks and pdfs for school, doing markup with the pencil, streaming some movies, browsing and maybe some photo editing. I pay for photoshop CC so with a more powerful iPad than my old 6th gen, I might want to try to use the iPad app which is included in the subscription.

I already own the Apple Pencil 1st gen and hopefully the adapter works with the Air as well but that we don’t know yet.

Which device would be better to buy in terms of longevity and performance? Considering that the air is from 2020.

Thanks I’m advance for any help!

• Angry
Reactions: jwolf6589

AJB1971

macrumors 6502
Jun 23, 2011
Both use the A14 processor so they should have similar performance and lifespans. I would imagine they both have 4GB of RAM. The Air 2 supported eight versions of the OS and it appears that Apple bases this on performance rather than the age of the device. That could change, but I wouldn't consider it an issue at the moment.

My preference would be for the Air 4 because of the laminated display.