Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheTruth101

Suspended
Original poster
Mar 15, 2017
And now everything is slow. Youtube takes forever, everything is messed up and I have the top of the line iPhone X.

I have been canceling updates for several months but today I realized it updated itself.

Mlrollin91

macrumors G5
Nov 20, 2008
It cannot update itself without entering in your pin and accepting that it will update overnight. You probably inadvertently did it. But I highly doubt your phone is now slower by going to the latest release, especially being an X. Later releases are more stable and have many performance improvements.

Try rebooting your device. If it just updated, its probably still indexing.

max2

macrumors 603
May 31, 2015
It cannot update itself without entering in your pin and accepting that it will update overnight. You probably inadvertently did it. But I highly doubt your phone is now slower by going to the latest release, especially being an X. Later releases are more stable and have many performance improvements.

Try rebooting your device. If it just updated, its probably still indexing.

Bingo.

Brandonjr36

macrumors 68000
Sep 12, 2016
Joplin
Should’ve installed a tvOS profile if you don’t want it to update. But what happened is you probably hit the button to update when it popped up. My old lady did that once.

tl01

macrumors 68020
Jun 20, 2010
What made the X slow? Why avoid updates? Mine is up to date and not slow. My 8 is up to date and not slow.

Bawstun

Suspended
Jun 25, 2009
And now everything is slow. Youtube takes forever, everything is messed up and I have the top of the line iPhone X.

I have been canceling updates for several months but today I realized it updated itself.