Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Voidness

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 2, 2005
Null
Hey all...

I'm a web developer coming from the Windowz world and I recently got my new 12" iBook. I used Dreamweaver on PC since Ultradev 4. I'm very pleased how Macromedia improved Dreamweaver's interface over time. So I expected a stunning interface for Dreamweaver on Mac OS X, or at least something similar. I was shocked today when I downloaded it on my iBook, it looks very awful, everything looks very inconsistent, nothing seems to fit as it should be. I know how most Mac apps have those floating windows (I've got no problem with that) But I'm sure it could be done a lot better.

So is it just me? Or is it actually really ugly?

Josh

macrumors 68000
Mar 4, 2004
State College, PA
when I downloaded it on my iBook

Prepare for the pirate police :p

I use DreamWeaver on Windows at work, and the last time I used Dreamweaver on OS X, if I remember right, the interface wasn't much different at all.

I use SubEthaEdit on OS X though for php/html stuff, and CSSEdit for css stuff (both are highly recommended, and free!)

edit:
To the post below mine: Ahh, should've thought of that! You're right, they do.

Voidness

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 2, 2005
Null
Josh said:
Prepare for the pirate police :p

Run for your lives! :p Just to clarify, I downloaded Dreamweaver directly from Macromedia.

Josh said:
I use DreamWeaver on Windows at work, and the last time I used Dreamweaver on OS X, if I remember right, the interface wasn't much different at all.

Well, it's essentially the same, it's just that the OS X version doesn't look as consistent.

yellow

Moderator emeritus
Oct 21, 2003
Portland, OR
Strange.. AFAIK Dreamworks is exactly the same for PC and Mac? At least the last version we got which was only a year ago..

abrooks

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2004
London, UK