Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blink56k

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 19, 2006
Rita Repulsa's Moon Palace
Hey all...I've posted about this before in different incarnations (i.e. should I wait for the Macbook or not) and was wondering if going for the iBook G4 is still worth it.

Would it get me through my remaining 3 years in college? I'm a student who's really really strapped for cash (surprise, I know:rolleyes: ...my on campus job only pays me about $300 a semester) so I was hoping to maybe get a refurbished iBook somewhere along the line (maybe I should wait for the refurb Macbooks?) to replace this Thinkpad.

Admittedly enough, I don't -need- a Mac as much as I do -want- one (love OS X, the iLife apps, the community ;) ...), as this ThinkPad (which I got for free from my school) is really sturdy and able.

So the question here really comes down to the old-school retro-ness hipness and affordability factor of an ibook G4 versus the revision A intel macbooks...not to answer my own question, as I admit the the latter would make more sense; but at the same time I'm really really strapped for cash (though I doubt the price difference would make much difference unless I were buying it off ebay).

Any advice for this stupored college student?

*spends the rest of his time hopelessly whoring himself around and registering for apple notebook sweepstakes*

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
Adelaide, Australia
I have an original G4 iBook and I love it. I can see it lasting me quite a bit longer so I'd say getting one now for much cheaper than the Intel MacBook isn't such a bad idea. Whatever you do, get off XP and onto OSX ASAP. I love acronyms. :cool:

Peyton

macrumors 68000
Feb 2, 2006
hahaha <--- refering to your hopeless registering :D