Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Darthmnkyrpm

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 4, 2012
First off, let me apologize if this has already been posted somewhere else. I've looked around, but I could never really find an exact answer to my question.

So, when they first announced some of the specs of the Mac Pro, I was so excited because I've been waiting for a new computer for awhile now. But the more and more I read online, the more people seem unhappy with it.

Anyway, here is my question. Will the Mac Pro be better than my Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"? Now let me be clear, I still want the Mac Pro because I am primarily a video editor using Premiere, AE, Cinema 4D, etc, so I do like everything the Mac Pro has to offer. My only question is, with the new AMD FirePro graphics, will this beast of a computer be suitable for gaming? (At least more than my older laptop)

Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
-Processor 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7
-Memory 16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
-Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6770M 1024 MB
-HDD - 750GB SATA Disk x7200rpm

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 8.49.17 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 8.49.17 AM.png
    39.4 KB · Views: 797
  • Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 8.49.56 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 8.49.56 AM.png
    78 KB · Views: 80
  • Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 8.49.56 AM copy.png
    Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 8.49.56 AM copy.png
    65.6 KB · Views: 77
Last edited:

nitromac

macrumors 6502
Jul 29, 2012
US
TBH If you have the cash to drop on a new Mac Pro, you could probably spend ~$1000 and get a very nice gaming PC (if you really want).

The workstation graphics will be able to handle games but they are purpose-built so it won't be as good as a top of the line gaming PC.

Darthmnkyrpm

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 4, 2012