Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ZircoBen

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 12, 2015
Utah, USA
I work in tech support, in a company that deploys exclusively Dell laptops to its employees. We've had conversations with employees that suffer with these Dell laptops, and their comments are boggling to me - Macs can't be THAT much better than these new Dell PCs that we give them? Here's some of their talking points:

• 1 hour battery life for even relatively new Dell Latitude laptops
  • Fans whirring up and overheating for basic tasks
  • Computers become incredibly slow when adding 30 to 40 tabs on separate Chrome instances. (to the point of the mouse pointer being frozen/jittery, and text input being choppy and difficult)
  • Computers get hot and kill battery while "sleeping."
They report that their personal M1 MacBooks are not only faster, but handle multiple Chrome windows and 40+ tabs without an issue. All this with all-day battery life. Another user says that her 2017 MacBook Pro (13", 7th gen i5) is faster than her 1 year old Latitude 7430 with a 12th gen i5.

I get the Apple Silicon hype, but I simply can't believe that Macs are inherently this much better, especially in comparison to the "latest and greatest" from Dell. The 2017 MacBook especially confounds me.

Does anyone have any additional perspective on why Macs subjectively or objectively are so much "faster"?

Last edited:
Reactions: three

chabig

macrumors G4
Sep 6, 2002
Macs do work better. All of your bullets sound about right to me. Though I think 1 hour battery life might be an exaggeration, a modern Mac laptop will absolutely outclass any PC on battery life.