Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Lenora

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 15, 2006
Hi, I'm new here.

I am a graphic designer (for many years) working almost entirely in print, not video or web.

I got a View Sonic LCD monitor to replace my Sony which has started to shift drastically and produce these squiggly lines on screen, etc.

Anyway, I had to return the lovely LCD because of the color inconsistency from top to bottom of the screen. It looks like I will have to stick with CRTs until I retire from this field.

I have an original G4, OS 9.2 and I am not giving it up until it totally dies on me. It only has ONE monitor port on the back, for ANALOG only (15 pin).

Does this make a difference in what I get?

I'd like a nice 19" CRT with high refresh rate and good dot pitch and high resolution. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. There isn't much to look at in the retail stores - they're all pushing LCDs.

Many thanks!

Lenora

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
Hi there. Welcome to MR and a big welcome to the Design & Graphics corner of the site. :)

While we mostly use Lacie Electron Blue's at work, my workstation is set up with a newer NEC/Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB which is an outstanding and well-reviewed monitor for the price. At the time of purchase, I recall there being a 19" or 20" model... can heartily recommend the brand.

This particular model also has some super-bright settings for DVD watching and gaming.

Chip NoVaMac

macrumors G3
Dec 25, 2003
Northern Virginia
I went with a Dell FP2001 monitor. OSX 10.4 supports it fully in both portrait and landscape.

Either way, monitor calibration through the likes of XRite can go a long ways at getting what publishers I dealt with - at getting "acceptable" results in the CMYK process.

Dr. Dastardly

macrumors 65816
Jun 26, 2004
I live in a giant bucket!