Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sikkinixx

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 10, 2005
Rocketing through the sky!
Ok seriously, why the hell do people act like such morons when you put a controller in their hands and a mic by their mouth?

I was just playing Gears Co-Op in XBL and I get this when I start:

Kid: *singing off key* oh...hi there

Me: Howdy

Kid:hm... are you an American?

Me: Huh?

Kid: Are you a Yank? You said Howdy

Me: No, just said howdy is all. I'm from Canada eh?

Kid: well thats Good, I hate ****** Americans, stupid pigs

Me: Thats a little harsh dude

Kid: What? I would hate to be one

Me: Americans made the game we are playing you know

Kid: well **** you

then he dropped me!! He sounded like he was about 10 years old too. wtf?!

I started playing Uno (yeah, Uno it's awesome) and two guys in the same start spouting off about Africans, (how England has too many of them) and Mexicans, (how the US has too many of them) and when they find out I'm from Canada they call ME a ****er for habouring terrorists and how I'm a fairy then leave the game!!!

WHAT THE HELL?! I have never had this before then TWICE in half an hour?!

The XBL community is leaving a great impression on me :mad:

Vidd

macrumors 65816
Mar 7, 2006
Is there not some sort of system through which you can report this?
Or is it ineffective?

The reason for venting over XBL is because IRL they cannot be openly racist. On this service they can call people all the names of the day fairly anonymously.

it5five

macrumors 65816
May 31, 2006
New York
I think it's the internet in general. You see stuff like this on a lot of other forums, and on social network sites like Digg. It's the whole anonomity thing. Most of the people saying this stuff are younger or weaker, so they couldn't get away with it in real life. So they try to sound like tough guys on the internet.

sikkinixx

macrumors 68020
Original poster