Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

b-rad g

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 29, 2010
After me raving of how easy it was to set up my Time Capsule and Airport Express, my brother bought an Express for his house to use as his Wifi router. Wouldn't you know he is having problems.

He has it all set up with WPA2 psswd and his MBP is connected fine, but neither his 3g or his wife's 3gs are getting internet. It says they are connected but they aren't getting the Airport bars at the tops of their phones, and of course can't get on internet.

Iv'e had him reset all network settings and forget this network, still nothing. He is also not getting any entries in the DNS field. Can somebody help me help him?

Last edited:

Azzin

macrumors 603
Jun 23, 2010
London, England.
I don't think you can use an AE as a router.

I'm no expert, but all it can do is redistribute an existing wireless signal or simply join a wifi network (which is I did with mine) and then enable streaming to speakers and/or wifi printing.

skorpien

macrumors 68020
Jan 14, 2008
I don't think you can use an AE as a router.

I'm no expert, but all it can do is redistribute an existing wireless signal or simply join a wifi network (which is I did with mine) and then enable streaming to speakers and/or wifi printing.

It can be used as a router and is in fact advertised as such.

http://www.apple.com/wifi/
http://www.apple.com/airportexpress/features/sharing.html

OP, have you attempted to change the channel on the Express? I assume he's running it in mixed b/g/n mode?

willieva

macrumors 6502
Mar 12, 2010
I'm not sure what you mean by "It says they are connected". Who is it, the phones or the router?

If the phones see the network name but don't connect, my first guess would be that the password was typed in wrong. Reset the wpa2 password on the router and try it again.

Azzin

macrumors 603
Jun 23, 2010
London, England.