Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Emerson

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 1, 2004
Iowa
Alright I need some help with making some buying decisions. Basically I am a college student on an internship so I will be getting some money on upgrading my equipment and I need a little help. Basically I have put together 3 good packages, with my spending limit around $3500.

Here is some background information, just to keep in mind.

I have the following camera equipment:
Nikon D70
18-70 lens
70-200 VR lens
SB-800
50 f/1.8
Kirk BH-3 Ballhead
Gtizo 1340 Tripod
Bunch of memory cards and a couple of nice bags

I have the following computer equipment:
2 Dell 2005FPW screens (bought them on mega sale)
12" Rev. A 867 GHz Powerbook (kind of slow)
Wacom Tablet
Photoshop CS
Nikon Capture 4.4

Now here are my three packages that I am trying to choose from:

Package 1:
New Dual Core 2 GHz Powermac with 4 GB memory
Nikon 17-55 f/2.8
Total: $3500

Package 2:
Nikon 17-55 f/2.8 $1200
Nikon 85 f/1.4 $1015
Nikon 10.5 Fisheye $570
Total: $2785

Package 3:
Nikon D200 $1700
Nikon MB-200 w/ extra battery $210
Nikon 17-55 f/2.8 $1200
Sale of Nikon D70 & Kit lens $600
Total: $2510

I love photography, but my computer is becoming quite slow. I don't do alot of post processing simple curves and adjustments, but I would like to start cataloging my photos with Iview or Lightroom. The D200 is an amazing camera (yeah I will wait until the banding clears), but I am afraid my laptop will really struggle with the 15 MB files. Basically I need your help and have always gotten good responses hear, so thanks ahead of time.

yankeefan24

macrumors 65816
Dec 24, 2005
NYC
Well if you don't need portability, go with 1. Powermac is an awesome computer. I don't kno alot about the different camera types, but you can't go wrong with the powermac.

Emerson

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 1, 2004
Iowa
dmw007,