Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
Original poster
May 3, 2009
I need to re-do my home network setup due to increasing demands.

Basically, I need a solution that allows wireless and some wired access on two floors.
My router is in my office in the second floor, on the same floor the I have my master bedroom where I need two wired devices (directTV DVR and PS4). The PS4 could go wireless but the DirectTV has to use cat-5

On the first floor, we can be mostly wireless but I will have an alarm panel that requires cat-5, so that's my only wired need.

Basically, I need some sort of access points or extenders (or what ever) that allow wired connections and that they communicate to the main router fairly quickly

I have a Netgear 3700 router (802.11n) but I'm thinking I'll need upgrade that to a 802.11ac type router.

What products can I use to interact with a 802.11ac router that won't be slow?

I have something now in the master bedroom (I forget what its called) that talks to the netgear but the communication link is too slow (I'm assuming the 802.11n is too slow at this point) which is why I'm thinking of a 802.11ac router.

Does my post make sense, in terms of describing what I need?

SandboxGeneral

Moderator emeritus
Sep 8, 2010
Detroit
I'd run one Ethernet cable from the second floor to downstairs and connect it to a switch and then from there to any devices that require Ethernet. I use a Dell Powerconnect 2808 switch myself. Connect that to your Wifi router upstairs and you're all set. You could also get a wifi access point to connect to the switch downstairs to enhance wifi reception on that floor as well.

As long as your wireless devices have ac capability, then the upgrade will be worth it - which I think you do have some AC devices.

Reactions: Ledgem

LiveM

macrumors 65816
Oct 30, 2015