Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Is iPhone 13 Pro a large upgrade from iPhone XS?

• Yes

Votes: 55 77.5%
  • No

Votes: 16 22.5%

• Total voters

Jake3231

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 24, 2021
I've been using an iPhone XS since early 2019, and it's been a great phone. It was an incremental upgrade at the time, but the A12 has held up really well, and the revisions from the 2018 models seem to have ended up being the prerequisite for many of the later software features that would come out (AR features, multi camera capture, high-performance OS features).

I was thinking I might upgrade to the 13 Pro, but it's not quite as big of an improvement as I had hoped. Because the XS hasn't really missed out on any software features, my only complaint with it is the battery life. Since I've been pretty happy with the XS, I am considering just getting the battery replaced and keeping it another year or two. Alternatively, a 13 Pro would include the last few years of revisions and silicon advancements to ensure it supports the next few years of software features. What would you do in this situation?

xxray

macrumors 68040
Jul 27, 2013
I’m upgrading from my XS Max. Could I wait another year? Or even 2-3? Sure. But I’m ready for some modernization updates.
  • 5G/Qualcomm/better modem
  • Better battery life
  • Brighter screen
  • Ultrawide band support
  • WiFi 6
  • Better cameras that can actually take pictures in low light/at night
  • Ultrawide camera
  • Increased water resistance
  • MagSafe
  • ProMotion (if you get the Pro model)
  • Faster processor

Reactions: ppetrovic

EM2013

macrumors 68020
Sep 2, 2013
Replaced the battery on my xs max & it’s good as new. 11, 12, 13 are speed bumps & camera upgrades.

I’d rather wait for a redesign with the spec bumps.

Replace your battery & wait

Reactions: supergt

Jake3231

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 24, 2021