Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nofxrs

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 27, 2016
Porto Alegre - Brazil
Hi Guys,
making this post just to say that i Sucessfully upgraded my Mac Pro 4.1 for a Fully working Wifi+bluetooth last gen + Airdrop

Since i'm no expert, decided to post this to encourage other 'noobs' like me to do the Easy, and cheap, upgrade.

Parts used:
A) Fenvi T919 for Mac OS ~ $50
B) 9 pin Male to External USB A Male PC ~$2 (you need this cable to power the BT module)
Screen Shot 2020-07-23 at 22.48.07.png

Screen Shot 2020-07-23 at 22.49.29.png

Instructions: Just plug the original cable that comes with the fenvi on the 9 pin male to external usb - on a back usb 2.0 port.

After installing the PCI-e card, download the Hardware_IO_Tools_for_Xcode_7.3.dmg - open Bluetooth Explorer, Search on the toolbar for "Tools" ---> "HCI Controller Selector" --> and change the Controller.

You're all set, easy like that, for just 52 bucks.

note: only thing i haven't tested yet is the Handoff..

Screen Shot 2020-07-23 at 21.23.41.png

Last edited:

tpivette89

macrumors 6502a
Jan 1, 2018
Middletown, DE
Very nice! Good to know there is an alternative to using adapters with newer Mac wifi/bluetooth cards at half the price. Although the pricier options are neater (everything is inside the case), this is definitely a viable option for those wishing to save some cash.

Reactions: nofxrs

nofxrs

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 27, 2016
Porto Alegre - Brazil
Very nice! Good to know there is an alternative to using adapters with newer Mac wifi/bluetooth cards at half the price. Although the pricier options are neater (everything is inside the case), this is definitely a viable option for those wishing to save some cash.

:)

Neater, yes
but i doubt the wifi signal strength isn't stronger on the versions with antennas outside..