Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ghost31

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jun 9, 2015
I'm so on the fence regarding iPad pro it's not even funny. I keep going back and forth...I like the bigger screen...but can I use it in bed? I like the Apple pencil. But I'm not an artist! I like the smart keyboard. But I won't be typing a lot anyway!

I have an iPad Air 2 that I love to death that gets used every single day. It's my main device for using Internet , managing photos, watching videos, emails and everything else in my life. The idea of pro is appealing as hell. What I'm concerned about is

• Portability. I don't usually take my iPad anywhere besides home and work. But will I be able to read with this in bed with no problems?
  • Apps optimized for pro: are there big issues with graphics in apps not being optimized for the larger screen that would turn me off?
  • Worth the price or overkill? For what I do and considering I'm not trying to replace a laptop here (I just like the iPad for chilling better than a MacBook) is the iPad pro overkill or can it be worth it for someone that doesn't care to do pro things with it?
  • Does the battery take forever to charge?
I'll be getting a MacBook Pro when the update comes next year that I'll be using for programming stuff, so really. The iPad is just an entertainment device for the most part to me. What do you think?

OTACORB

macrumors 68000
Jun 21, 2009
Central, Louisiana
I purchased a iPad Pro with the intent of selling my iPad Mini 2 and MacBook Pro. I mainly used both of them for consumption doing mostly the things you mentioned. Though I do some work occasionally on my MacBook Pro, but it's usually word processing and/or spreadsheets. Which can be done on the iPad Pro.