Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

vj24601

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 27, 2005
I am the father of a precocious elementary school age boy. He reads at a level well beyond his years and is showing tremendous aptitude and love for technology. He wants to learn to write programs.

I am a relatively technically astute business user, but I am by no means a developer of any kind. I want to provide my son with the ability to pursue his interest and develop his skills. I am willing to put in the work to develop a “curriculum” for him. However, as a non-techie I have no idea where to start.

I am looking for advice on where to start. What language should he learn? Are there good beginner books with exercises that he could work through? Is there some sort of “developer” tool kit that I should buy?

I would appreciate any advice you may be able to provide. Thank you in advance.

(p.s. We are a Mac family. He has his own iMac and wants to develop on this platform. I wanted to include that since it probably affects the direction he would take.)

neverever

macrumors newbie
Sep 18, 2004
I started a C class at age 14, and suggest you should start with the C programming language as well. I think learning C is possible at any age, I started in middle school, but had my first "class" in highschool.

The only problem I see is running into algebra difficulties.

Any "C Beginners Guide" book will do, because it has simple code that you can type in and compile. The starting off difficulty is in knowing how to use the programmer tools for mac os x. But we can help you with that.

kainjow

Moderator emeritus
Jun 15, 2000