Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Huntn

macrumors Core
May 5, 2008
The Misty Mountains
When it goes retail, I may play it, my my hardware is adequate. Have they decided on a subscription model? It won't be on VR which I don't think is yet ready for prime time.

gkarris

macrumors G3
Original poster
Dec 31, 2004
"No escape from Reality...”
Yeah, the other thread the OP hasn't been on Macrumors for over a year, so I doubt we'll see a name change.

I'm getting to know the program - I work weekends so I have to wait until Monday to continue.

I tried those two Origin ships that were being demoed - they're pretty cool!

I found a ship in space - I EVA'd (abandoning the Origin ship I was flying around in) and took it back to that space station - but crash landed it (I guess I forgot to put the landing pads down) - total noob... :)

It's a great game so far! Such realism and depth to it - my next days off I'm gonna start going through intro vids from here:

and do a few easy missions...

blesscheese

macrumors 6502a
Apr 3, 2010
Central CA
SC does a *lot* of the immersion stuff well. In another thread, I talked about how some games do it well and others just crap out.

Well, every time I go through the airlock to go to my ship, I really, really feel like I'm in a star port in space.

gkarris

macrumors G3
Original poster
Dec 31, 2004
SC does a *lot* of the immersion stuff well. In another thread, I talked about how some games do it well and others just crap out.

Well, every time I go through the airlock to go to my ship, I really, really feel like I'm in a star port in space.

Yeah, it is not like Everspace - just play a sector or two...

You have to really sit down and enjoy the stuff. I played around for a while on the 2 Origin ships that were being previewed.

I'm glad I signed up - for the beauty of it...