Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Johnnieglance

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 15, 2020
Hi guys,

I am a video editor and I have owned a Mac Pro 3 GHz 10-Core Intel Xeon E5 (late 2013)since it came out. I was looking at the new models and they are crazy expensive so was considering how far I could take my old mac pro.

I have 2 16gb sticks of ram (32 GB 1866 MHz DDR3) and my graphics card is a AMD FirePro D700 6 GB.

I've changed ram on machines before (which i know is easy) before but never ventured into the deeper workings, but do trust myself to follow instructions competently.

756 was my Single-Core Score and 6007 Multi-Core Score.

Would greatly appreciate anyone who could recommend what I could do to most 'beast mode' this mac and give it a new lease of life.

Thanks in advance

John

ReanimationLP

macrumors 68030
Jan 8, 2005
On the moon.
You can max out the RAM using 4x32GB DDR3 ECC RDIMMs. You can get a E5-2697v2 chip to take it to 12 cores. You can also get a Sintech adapter and install a larger NVMe SSD

MikkelAD

macrumors regular
Feb 17, 2018
what I could do to most 'beast mode' this mac and give it a new lease of life.

I guess this answer is not what you was hoping for but here goes!

CPU: You have the 10-core which means almost top performance. 6007 in multi-core score seems a bit low though. The 12-core is a little more potent but not by much. I get 7600 with my machine. I don't know if you had a lot of apps open when testing, but changing CPU doesn't make much sense.