Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jerryk

macrumors 604
Original poster
Nov 3, 2011
SF Bay Area
Just got an iPad Pro 11" and folio keyboard. Keyboard has made email messages,word docs, and other text entry very easy. Trying to determine if I want a pencil.

I can see using it in OneNote for meeting notes and such. But what else can I use it for, given that I am not a artist by any definition.

Thoughts?

Shirasaki

macrumors P6
May 16, 2015
Note taking and handwriting for reply. Too bad that I don’t have a good handwriting recognition keyboard. Swipe keyboard is too slow for me.

AutomaticApple

Suspended
Nov 28, 2018
Massachusetts
Just got an iPad Pro 11" and folio keyboard. Keyboard has made email messages,word docs, and other text entry very easy. Trying to determine if I want a pencil.

I can see using it in OneNote for meeting notes and such. But what else can I use it for, given that I am not a artist by any definition.

Thoughts?
Writing and drawing.

PeterJP

macrumors 65816
Feb 2, 2012
Leuven, Belgium
Notes in GoodNotes. I don't need to have my handwritten notes converted into text. It works just fine if those handwritten notes are searchable, which is what GoodNotes provides. Precisely because I don't have a keyboard, the iPad Pro 11 is small enough to replace my notebook.

kristalsoldier

macrumors 6502a
Aug 10, 2013

Thoughts?

What do you think we/ I do with the Pencil? What kind of a question is this?

Reactions: Conutz

Thomas Davie

macrumors 6502a
Jan 20, 2004
Ok, this is what I do. I'm on medical returement.

1) I use Calendar and/or reminder apps to set snd make appointments. No more bits n bobs of paper all over the place.
2) I use Goodnotes and/or Notability to do all of the heavy lifting of day to day writing (as above).
3) I use Palu, a calendar app in order to have a visual representation of what I've doe /have yet to do for a month at a time.