Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

buttongerald

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 29, 2016
St. John's, Newfoundland
Good day folks,

I couldn't think of a title that summed it up better than that, without making it some massive sentence. So forgive me!

I've been an amateur photographer for nearly 10 years. I'm a graphic artist by trade, so I know my way around the software, but not around the hardware so much. My wife and I have started doing more together in the way of photography and she wants to continue to expand this with more equipment. In the last 4 months we have purchased 2 brand new lenses for our camera. We have a Canon Rebel T7, and alongside the stock lens we have a 50mm Portrait lens, and a 75-300mm zoom lens. Let me say, I am blown away by the 50mm lens, I had no idea the impact on quality going beyond the stock lens would have. This leads me to my main reason for making this thread and asking..

What is the major difference in the bodies of the camera? As I mentioned, we have a Rebel T7, which we love, prior to this we had a T3 which saw a lot of use and love as well, but what are the advantages of upgrading outside the Rebel line to say the 90D or higher? I should add that we already shoot in RAW, just to put that out there. I am asking this mainly for my wife, although a new camera body isn't on the table just yet, as we plan on purchasing some lighting equipment and a better tripod next, it won't be far off. She is also looking at more lenses, but only ones from Canon currently.

I have a few friends who are photographers, but a lot of them are busy in the summer months with vacations and weddings so I figured I would ask some fellow Mac users this time.

Thanks!

macsound1

macrumors 6502a
May 17, 2007
SF Bay Area
Biggest feature specifically for Canon between Rebel and xxD series is more buttons and the top screen.