Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

whiteangel

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 29, 2004
Manchester
I am experiencing some pains in my arms (more in the right but some in the left), so I thought why not try getting a trackball and see if it gets better. I have never tried a trackball before, and can't find a local shop that has one on display. Nevertheless I am ready to give trackballs a shot, due to its benefits, one of which is not needing a mousing space, as I share a small table with my bf so there is quite limited space for my mouse a logitech MX510.

So which one should I get? I looked at the logitech cordless trackman but am not that keen to have to replenish the batteries (too lazy for that).

I read from another thread in this forum that kensington has better drivers, so I'm quite interested in the Orbit Elite and the Expert. Apparently the bigger the ball the better, and obviously expert is better than the orbit, but is it worth the price difference? Will I notice the lack of buttons on the orbit? As my current MX510 has many buttons and I use the back and forth alot, but I find using the scroll wheel quite tiring.

What about Microsoft's offerings? Like the Microsoft Trackball Explorer

Another question, although I've read that the finger controlled trackballs are better than the thumb ones, does anyone has any personal experience as to which one is easier to learn , get used to? I play warcraft 3 alot and hope that the trackball can be used for it as well after some practice of course. If not I can always plug in my current mouse.

sorry for the awfully long post, but I am very eager to hear from you guys. I have searched the entire forum for the word 'trackballs' and still can't reach a decision so I need your help and input.

Thanks alot.

Rob0711

macrumors member
Apr 27, 2005
Germany
trackballs