Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Rus Shackleford

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 1, 2003
NC, US
Our house is 99% Macs/iOS devices (1 ps4 and roku as well) so i thought i'd ask you kind folks on this forum if any of this makes any sense as i'm no networking expert but have tried everything i can from searching the internet.

I had a Netgear router for the past year to replace my beloved but aging Airport Extreme (non-AC version!) and it worked fine for a year and then died. Costco had a deal on a TP-Link Archer C4000 so i picked that up thinking well, it's modern - how bad can it be?

In the time i was waiting for that to arrive i hooked up my old Airport Extreme and it worked great. I'd honestly keep using it but it doesn't handle the 8 devices in the house all that well and it doesn't have great range.

Anyway, after some fiddling i was able to get the TP-Link setup or so i thought. The wireless network worked fine for my iPhone and iPad but when connected wired to my iMac there was no internet - it obviously had "internet" since it could create a wifi network. And then i tried to connect to the wireless network with my MacBook Air and no luck. I've tried all the normal reboot modem, then router - etc, etc. with no luck. I can't for the life of me figure out why some of it works and some of it doesn't.

Lastly, in troubleshooting this i unplugged everything and then hooked my Modem directly to the iMac - still no internet.

Plugging the Airport Extreme back made everything work again. Want to just return this TP-Link mess but not sure if anyone can shed some light on why the Airport Extreme seems fine but nothing else does? Could it be "holding on" to the network or something and causing all of these issues? Is it a TP-Link thing?

thanks for listening and any help would be appreciated.

hobowankenobi

macrumors 68020
Aug 27, 2015
on the land line mr. smith.